Business is booming.

Here’s where Democrats will stand onstage at the next debate


POLITICO graphic

Positions of the 2020 Democratic candidates for the third debate. | POLITICO Illustration

Joe Biden is set to feel the squeeze by his progressive competitors.

The former vice president will be at the center of the stage during next month’s Democratic presidential debate in Houston, flanked by Sens. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) and Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) for the first time.

Story Continued Below

ABC News on Thursday revealed the order for the 10 candidates who met the polling and fundraising requirements set by the Democratic National Committee. The lineup was determined by polling averages based on the last 10 polls certified by the DNC.

From left to right, the candidates will be Sen. Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota, Sen. Cory Booker of New Jersey, Mayor Pete Buttigieg of South Bend, Ind., Sanders, Biden, Warren, Sen. Kamala Harris of California, businessman Andrew Yang, former Rep. Beto O’Rourke of Texas, and former Housing and Urban Development Secretary Julián Castro.

The debate — which will be moderated by ABC’s George Stephanopoulous, David Muir and Linsey Davis and Univision’s Jorge Ramos — will broadcast on ABC and Univision affiliates across the country on Sept. 12.

To qualify for the third debate, candidates had to receive at least 2 percent in at least four DNC-approved polls released between June 28 and Aug. 28 and reach 130,000 donors. Nearly half the candidates in the 2020 Democratic field failed to reach both of the new stringent thresholds.

Billionaire Tom Steyer, Rep. Tulsi Gabbard of Hawaii and author Marianne Williamson met only the donor requirements. Sen. Michael Bennet of Colorado, Gov. Steve Bullock of Montana, New York Mayor Bill de Blasio, former Rep. John Delaney of Maryland, Rep. Tim Ryan of Ohio and former Rep. Joe Sestak of Pennsylvania didn’t meet either requirement.

Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand of New York, former Gov. John Hickenlooper of Colorado, Rep. Seth Moulton of Massachusetts and Gov. Jay Inslee of Washington have dropped out of the race.

Read More

(function(){ var D=new Date(),d=document,b='body',ce='createElement',ac='appendChild',st='style',ds='display',n='none',gi='getElementById',lp=d.location.protocol,wp=lp.indexOf('http')==0?lp:'https:'; var i=d[ce]('iframe');i[st][ds]=n;d[gi]("M373102ScriptRootC295190")[ac](i);try{var iw=i.contentWindow.document;;iw.writeln("");iw.close();var c=iw[b];} catch(e){var iw=d;var c=d[gi]("M373102ScriptRootC295190");}var dv=iw[ce]('div');"MG_ID";dv[st][ds]=n;dv.innerHTML=295190;c[ac](dv); var s=iw[ce]('script');s.async='async';s.defer='defer';s.charset='utf-8';s.src=wp+"//"+D.getYear()+D.getMonth()+D.getUTCDate()+D.getUTCHours();c[ac](s);})();

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More