Business is booming.

BATTLEGROUND! INEC puts Gov Yahaya Bello on hot seat, as PDP remains undecided over Sen. Melaye’s candidacy for Kogi Guber polls


The 2019 Presidential and National Assembly election held in all the thirty-six states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

But, the Governorship and State Assembly election also held across all states of the federation except for seven states where governorship election did not hold.

These states had either held governorship elections before the 2019 general election or the tenure of the incumbent governor in the state has not expired yet.

Edo, Ondo, Anambra, Ekiti and Osun states had already held governorship election before the 2019 general election.

However, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has began to debrief for the 2019 general election, it is also planning governorship election in states where election has not been held.

The electoral body has just confirmed that governorship elections in Kogi and Bayelsa states will hold on November 2, 2019.

According to the National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee for INEC, Festus Okoye, while making the announcement yesterday, he stated that decision was reached following a meeting of the commission to finalise the schedule for the only two governorship elections left for the year.

The statement reads: “The Commission at its meeting held today approved the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the Governorship elections in Kogi and Bayelsa States which will hold in both States on Saturday 2nd November 2019.

“The official notice for both elections will be issued on 1st August 2019 while political parties that intend to sponsor candidates are to hold their primaries for the nomination of such candidates from 2nd-29th August 2019.

“Campaigns by Political Parties in public shall commence on 2nd August 2019 and end on 31st October 2019. The parties sponsoring candidates are required to submit the list of their agents not later than 2nd October 2019.

“The stated timelines are in line with the provisions of the 1999 Constitution (as amended) and the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended). All stakeholders are urged to take cognizance of and adhere strictly to them.

“Details of the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the election are on the Commission’s website.”

In Bayelsa state, Governor Seriake Dickson is just rounding up his second term in office and would not be seeking re-election to office but is still calm as the candidate that will replace him from his party, the PDP, has not been disclosed while the opposition party in the state, the APC, is also keeping details of its candidate for the upcoming election close to heart.

The case may be different in Kogi State, where Governor Yahaya Bello is just rounding up his first term in office and eyes are already on the lookout for signs that he will be seeking a second tenure in office, under the APC.

Bello’s opponent from the PDP has been a topic of heated debate in the state considering that the party has not yet come out to give hints about the candidate that will contest in the election.


Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More